Traits of good and bad portfolio. ( Week 2)

Traits of good and bad portfolio.

So as I have mentioned before portfolio needs to clearly show your skills and show case best pieces of your work, but what we call a good portfolio?  Well by just looking at very few professional portfolios we can already say what are common elements and how things are laid out. Also it’s worth to mention that it’s much easier to talk about good examples than about worse ones.  I will show some examples of typical professional portfolios and also I’ll show some examples of common mistakes while creating digital-online portfolio.

Also I don’t intend to promote or bash any particular portfolios for any reasons than presentation of the content it self. I won’t judge any quality of the content of the examples used.  Well first of all I shall list good key elements of a good portfolio and then I’ll show my justification for these choice.

Good portfolio is:
– easy to navigate
– easy to read
– loads it’s content up quickly
– work in it is consistently presented across the board

It is possible to use portfolio and blog together on same site, front page should be dedicated to the portfolio and show of best examples of work. About this however I’ll speak later when I will be re-design this blog into the professional portfolio.  Please keep in mind that all of mine comments are subjective and based upon my own preferences and on what I think is working well in a portfolio construction.

(Fig.1) madelike me screen shot  (2007)
(Fig.1) madelike me screen shot (2007)

Up above a good example of excellent portfolio with one major flaw.  Navigation is perfect and clear, there is consistent style how images are shown. Domain name is very simple and easy to remember. However the black and whit background coupled with grey fonts is not the greatest idea as it makes text hard to read. This website is nothing but a portfolio and contact details.

(Fig 2.) christofferradsby.com screen shot  (2014)
(Fig 2.) christofferradsby.com screen shot (2014)

This portfolio belongs to the professional environmental artist.  Domain is based upon his name, which is not always  most desirable, just name  and surname doesn’t suggest anything, what kind of website it’s meant to be. I rely like that when you click on the image it sends you to the full article about the project, shows more screens and creation process, there is very few annotations together with the images.  This website doubles also as  a blog in separate section. Only minor problem I have with this website is that empty space on the right.  It gives an impression that some images failed to load. Besides that it’s amazing portfolio full of wonderful examples.

(Fig 3.) http://www.clintoncrumpler.com/ screen shot  (nd)
(Fig 3.) http://www.clintoncrumpler.com/ screen shot (nd)

Another professional portfolio very similar to the previous one. This time however menu on the left is permanently pinned to the side of the screen, only the images are scrolling. This is very valuable and useful element of the website. Like previous portfolio when you click on the image, it shows more of the same project.

(Fig 4.) mo-ak screen shot  (nd)
(Fig 4.) mo-ak screen shot (nd)

This is quite decent portfolio however, it have slightly too much text.  It has excellent branding  but it suffers slightly from content quality and a large amount of text, which is not really necessary to be shown on the front page.

(Fig 5.) whiskeredart screen shot  (2015)
(Fig 5.) whiskeredart screen shot (2015)

Now to compare and contrast my portfolio.  So this is my front page as for 06/10/2015. Font choice and colour scheme is good enough and close the to professional standard but similarities ends here.  On this page is unnecessary large banner. Subtitle under the name of this blog should suggest what content should be here. Next thing is that this website is a sub-domain of  word-press, this however could easily changed if I would pay for the domain, there are no free options to own whole domain. Next thing is that the images are not working right now, but I am planing to change it, as I am limited quite a   by themes available to me.

I am planing to put a thumbnails of my art on the front page and once you click them they should take you to the post where more images and information would be contained. Also I need to remove that banner and think about more professional look for menu and better presentation of contact details.

References.

(Fig.1) madlike me screen shot (2007) http://www.madelikeme.com/

(Fig 2.) christofferradsby.com screen shot  (2014)  http://christofferradsby.com/

(Fig 3.) lintoncrumpler.comscreen shot  (nd)

(Fig 4.) mo-ak screen shot  (nd) http://mo-ak.com/

(Fig 5.) whiskeredart screen shot  (2015) https://whiskeredart.wordpress.com/
– often includes work in progress screens or behind scenes

It is possible to use portfolio and blog together on same site, front page should be dedicated to the portfolio and show of best examples of work. About this however I’ll speak later when I will be re-design this blog into the professional portfolio.  Pleses keep in mind that all of mine comments are subjective and based upon my own preferences.

Leave a Reply

